Stay in our classic 1920s-style N.D.G. home, 15 minutes outside downtown Montreal & all the action!

Stay in our classic 1920s-style N.D.G. home, 15 minutes outside downtown Montreal & all the action!



A joint

avr. 2009


Vous voulez partir en vacances dans des propriétés comme celles-ci? Commencez tout d'abord par inscrire votre propriéte.

Nous contacter

Vous aimez cette propriété? Contactez ce membre pour savoir si la propriété est disponible.

Entrez les dates de votre séjour

Choisissez votre type de vacances
Ajoutez un message et envoyez





Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 chambres
Couchages 7
2 salles de bain

Notre maison

We own a four-bedroom brick cottage in the classic mid-1920s style characteristic of our neighbourhood (e.g., oak floors throughout, three floors with bedrooms on the second floor and a finished basement, eat-in kitchen, formal wood-panelled dining room).

The master bedroom is airy and bright with a double bed. Our eldest daughter has her own room with a single bed, and a loft overlooking the backyard. Her younger sisters sleep in the same room (two twin beds) which gives out to a balcony overlooking our street at the front of the house. The fourth bedroom is used as an office (equipped with a laptop, high speed Internet connection and printer), but has a sofa bed which can sleep two. The full bath is upstairs as well with a bathtub and shower.

Our living room is equipped with a working fireplace, and where the family usually watches television.

Along with the dining room which can seat eight or more, our kitchen can seat five.

The kitchen is fully-equipped with a gas stove, dishwasher and microwave oven. From the kitchen, one can access the backyard with its large deck where we place our garden furniture during the summer, BBQ, and eat under the lovely maple and oak trees shading the yard. The backyard also has a swing set for the children, and there is no grass to cut!

The basement is finished with hardwood floors, and has a futon that can sleep two, a TV, a half-bath with a shower, laundry facilities (washer and dryer), and a small room which is used both for storage and for the two additional computers we have (both have Internet connection).

We could make arrangements so that you would have access to our car (Mazda 5 which seats six people), and there are bicycles at your disposal. We are always complimented on the style and charm of our home, and are confident you would enjoy a very comfortable stay.

We live in Notre-dame-de-Grâce (which means 'Our Lady of Grace' in French, and known by its acronym, N.D.G.). N.D.G. is known as 'leafy N.D.G.' because of the many trees that line its streets.

We are centrally located: a 10-15 minute drive outside the downtown core; and our home is across the street from several buses that can take you to the 'métro' (Montreal's subway) that will get you downtown in about 25-30 minutes (or other parts of the city). We are adjacent to a university campus, and literally across the street from its library.

There is a large green space directly in front of our house which the neighborhood children use to play, and where you can find neighbours walking their dog (always careful to clean up after them, of course). From our home you can walk a few blocks west to the neighbouring district of Montreal West, with its small town appeal. Walking east from our home, you can take a lovely stroll along Monkland Avenue to the Village where you can window shop, enjoy a pastry and café au lait, or dine at one of the many excellent neighbourhood restaurants. There are many parks in the area as well. We are especially proud of the community spirit of our street--in fact for the past seven years we have had a 'block party' where we close the street to traffic, and all the neighbours join for an outdoor BBQ.

Summertime is an especially vibrant time of year in Montreal, and being so close to downtown, its a very quick trip to the International Jazz Festival (in July with many free outdoor concerts), the Old Port and its Science Centre, 'the mountain' as its known to Montrealers--Mont-Royal where you have a picnic and stroll along the many paths leading to many spectacular views of the city, and so much more. Having access to our car would also allow you to make day trips to the Laurentian mountains in the north, or the picturesque Eastern Townships to the south.

We are a family of five: I am Rosa (43) and an adult educator/counsellor; my husband, Claudio (44) is a high school ESL teacher; and our three daughters, Nina (12), Mikayla (9), and Leia (7). We also have a family cat, Barley, a handsome gray beast who enjoys spending most of his time outdoors (though not during the winter!).

We are fortunate to have both our respective families living close by, and the girls have the opportunity to spend much time with both their maternal and paternal grandparents. We like to take in the sights and sounds of the city (e.g., the annual International Fireworks Festival, going to 'La Ronde', the city's amusement park, swimming at the many neighbourhood pools, etc.), but also enjoy day trips to the Laurentians or the Eastern Townships for hiking or swimming by the many, many lakes that dot our province.

Claudio and I are first-generation Canadians with both sets of parents having emigrated from Italy (Toscana in Claudio's case, and Molise in mine). Parliamo italiano (though Claudio is the much more fluent speaker, having grown up speaking Italian at home), et on parle français since the province of Quebec in which Montreal is situated is officially a French-language province.




Where is it?

Découvrez aussi