5 minutes to downtown, 10 minutes to beach, 15 minutes to hiking

5 minutes to downtown, 10 minutes to beach, 15 minutes to hiking


Last login

Plus d'un mois

Member since

janvier 2015


Vous voulez partir en vacances dans des propriétés comme celles-ci? Commencez tout d'abord par inscrire votre propriéte.

Nous contacter

Vous aimez cette propriété? Contactez ce membre pour savoir si la propriété est disponible.

Entrez les dates de votre séjour

Choisissez votre type de vacances
Ajoutez un message et envoyez





Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 chambres
Couchages 6
3 salles de bain

Notre maison

Quiet 1941 home with garden in the middle of beautiful Victoria, backing on to a large park. Views of the entire downtown, ocean and mountains. Shopping is a 10 minute walk away, downtown is 35 minute walk / 5 minute drive. The house is child friendly. It has 2 levels: a main floor, and a separate one bedroom suite.Comfortably sleeps up to 6 people.

We also have a 2 bedroom ski condo (www dot mtwashingtoncondo dot ca on beautiful Mount Washington near Courtenay BC, a 3.5 hour drive north. This is perfect for both summer hiking and mountain biking and winter skiing (alpine and nordic). This is available for non-simultaneous exchanges.

We provide a computer and WIFI, and leave a booklet with full instructions on how to use the house, where to shop, and what to see and do in the area. We like to meet our exchange partners when this is possible at the beginning or end of the exchange. One of the most pleasant parts of house exchanging is getting to know our partners.

We live in a quiet residential neighbourhood, with parks and playgrounds. Our home is central but is within 15 minutes of everything.

The condo on Mount Washington is in an alpine resort, close to ski lifts, biking, and hiking trails.

Victoria, the capital of British Columbia (population about 360,000) is a city of culture and nature. It has many excellent restaurants with all kinds of cuisine, many theatres, cinemas, nightclubs, and pubs. But it also is next to some amazing landscapes and seascapes. There are dozens of good beaches nearby, and hundreds of km of hiking trails within a 15-30 minute drive from our house. Kayaks can be rented, and there is excellent kayaking all around Victoria.

See some of my photos here: http://tinyurl.com (and a few from other photographers)

This gives lots of info about our area: http://www.visitors-info.com

A little further away on Vancouver Island are wineries, craft fairs, native cultural museums, old growth forests, ocean fishing, mountains, and camping.

Places to visit on southern Vancouver Island are: Sooke, French Beach, Salt Spring Island, Duncan, Cathedral Grove, Chemainus, Parksville, Tofino.

Vancouver and Seattle are easy to get to, and most of our exchange partners spend a weekend in one or both cities.

The least expensive flights are usually from London, Paris or Frankfurt to Vancouver with Air Transat, costing about $1200.
A little more about us:
Brian is a psychologist, and Gabriele is a counsellor and retired high school teacher, originally from Germany. We have a cat (Frodo). The cat will need to be fed every day and needs some company. He can be left for up to two nights. Our dog will stay with family during the exchange. Our family is here and will help with any problems that arise.

We usually exchange cars as well.

We have done 11 house exchanges in France, UK, Denmark, Switzerland and Germany. They went very well and we are looking forward to more adventures and chance to get to know new exchange partners.

Previous fabulous exchanges:
England: Weston-super-Mare, London, Greenwich
Germany: Sierksdorf, Hamburg x2, Plön
France: Le Bacarès, Toulouse
Switzerland: Luzern
Denmark: Copenhagen


Apprenez plus sur nous-mêmes

  1. Brian (Canadian) is a psychologist, Gabriele (German) retired teacher and counsellor. Nour parlons aussi Francais / Wir sprechen auch Deutsch.

  2. We have done many house exchanges, and love this way of travelling, and getting to know our exchange partners.

  3. We'll consider exchanges anywhere in Europe, and would also look at USA (e.g., New York, San Francisco, New Orleans) for shorter trips.

Destinations idéales



Where is it?

Votre Quartier

Fernwood Inn. 5th Street bar and grill
Cafés sympas
Cafe Fantastico
Cure shopping
Hillside Mall. Thousands of downtown shops.
Un peu de culture
Lots of local theatre.
Promenades au parc
Mount Doug. Thetis lake.
Un peu d'exercice
Hiking and kayaking.
Randonnées d'un jour
Chemainus. Sooke potholes

Découvrez aussi