Renovated Miner's Cottage at base of Townsville's iconic Castle Hill, 4 min to city & Cleveland Bay

Renovated Miner's Cottage at base of Townsville's iconic Castle Hill, 4 min to city & Cleveland Bay



A joint

août 2008


Vous voulez partir en vacances dans des propriétés comme celles-ci? Commencez tout d'abord par inscrire votre propriéte.

Nous contacter

Vous aimez cette propriété? Contactez ce membre pour savoir si la propriété est disponible.

Entrez les dates de votre séjour

Choisissez votre type de vacances
Ajoutez un message et envoyez





Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 chambres
Couchages 2
2 salles de bain

Notre maison

Located in a quiet, secure neighbourhood at the end of a "dead-end" street (no neighbours on one side or at the rear). The house looks small from the outside, but has been extended at the rear of to create an additional self-contained double bed-room (Queen-sized bed) with it's own bathroom and living area (LCD TV/DVD/stereo) with separate access. This area leads out to an outdoor entertaining area, which includes an elevated deck, affording uninterrupted views of Castle Hill and fabulous clear blue skies for most of the year.The main house consists of:
- a Master Bedroom (Queen-sized bed) with access to the two-way Master bathroom with spa-bath, plus a dressing-room with a walk-in robe;
- a second bedroom with a study alcove, currently used as an office with living area (but can have bed set up if required)
- a third small bedroom, currently set up as a gym
- formal living and dining area (LCD TV/DVD/stereo)
- a modern, well-equipped kitchen - stainless steel stove (gas hotplates), stainless steel refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave and walk-in pantry
- a dinette connected to the kitchen, which seats five (LCD TV/DVD/stereo)
- large laundry with washer and dryer
Fully airconditioned, fans, security screens/doors.
Cable TV at three stations
High-speed broadband internet access at two stations (plus wireless router)
Undercover parking for one car.
Situated on a small block.
The home and yard has been designed and set up to suit a professional couple whose adult children and/or friends come to visit so is more suited to couples or those with older children.

Townsville is about 300km south of Cairns and is a major access point to the Great Barrier Reef. Local attractions include Magnetic Island and the award-winning Strand, which has a water-park.

Our house is approximately a 4 minute drive to the Townsville CBD, which as well as a shopping mall, houses the Museum of Tropical North Queensland and a Cultural Centre. The Strand itself is about a 20 minute walk from where we live (not including the length of the Strand, which is about another 20 minutes).

A popular activity that begins virtually "next-door" to us is to hike the "goat-track" to the top of Castle Hill - great exercise and the track is well-signposted.

Our house is literally next-door to the Heritage-listed West End Cemetery, for which there are self-guiding tour brochures. (In case you are "spooked" about living next to a cemetery, we can assure you that we have not encountered any ghosts's very peaceful!)

Townsville is in the "dry tropics", which means that, although we experience some hot temperatures and humidity during our summer months (December to February) and, on rare occasions, the edge of cyclones, for most of the year the temperatures are warm to hot and we have clear, blue skies and a sea-breeze. Most travellers tend to visit during Winter and Spring (June - November), when the temperatures are milder, there is low humidity and virtually no rain.

We are a "mature", close to retiring couple (mid-fifties) with no children living at home. She is a high-school teacher, he is a free-lance journalist. We have both travelled extensively and have lived in London (eight years), South Korea (one year) and Ecuador (six months). For the past four years, we have been returning to South-East Asian countries (Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia) and are looking to retire to one of these countries in a few years.
We are both about to undertake certificate courses in E.S.L. for the purpose of teaching English in an Asian country for an extended period of time.
We are very "into" technology - using the net for just about everything! However, we are also both into keeping fit - love walking everywhere and seeing new things (markets, etc). We usually take our well-trained Border Collie, Roy, on these walks.
He is a "sports' nut" (cricket, AFL, NRL) and loves cooking. She likes aerobics, reading, good movies and playing strategy/puzzle games )on computer or Playstation, etc).
We are both interested in renovating and interior design, as well as real estate.




Where is it?

Découvrez aussi