Long term swap- Come and experience Australia for a year - and stay in our lovely strawbale home.

Long term swap- Come and experience Australia for a year - and stay in our lovely strawbale home.



A joint

juil. 2008


Vous voulez partir en vacances dans des propriétés comme celles-ci? Commencez tout d'abord par inscrire votre propriéte.

Nous contacter

Vous aimez cette propriété? Contactez ce membre pour savoir si la propriété est disponible.

Entrez les dates de votre séjour

Choisissez votre type de vacances
Ajoutez un message et envoyez





Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 chambres
Couchages 5
2 salles de bain

Notre maison

I and my children have a lovely comfortable, rustic environmentally sustainable strawbale home which is only 4 years old, set on half an acre alongside bush reserves and bordered by winter creeks. The house has a large, spacious open plan living, dining kitchen area with high ceilings, lots of windows and views to the garden. There is a wood fired stove for winter warmth and ceiling fans in all of the rooms. There are 4 bedrooms and a small study with broadband internet access, two bathrooms and toilets. There are 5 steps leading down to the bedrooms. A large wooden deck and a rustic bricked patio lead through french doors from the living area and an undercover back verandah leads off the laundry. The house has a solar hot water system and a water reuse system for the garden. We live in a smallish suburb with a village atmosphere called Darlington, situated in the Darling Ranges on the Eastern side of the Perth metropolitan area, 30 minutes drive from the Perth CBD and a similar distance from the closest beaches. It has a very strong community spirit and there are many ways in which you could become involved in the community if you chose to. There are 3 primary schools (1 government, 1 Montessori and an Independant school) within walking distance from our house and the secondary school is within cycling distance. Bicycles and a Toyota Hilux (2 wheel drive) are included in the exchange. There is also camping equipment which could be used for trips away.
The garden is unfenced with kangeroos passing though and feeding in it most of the year. Lots of wonderful and varied bushwalks are accessed close to the house and further afield. Darlington is only around 15 min drive from the International and domestic airports for frequent air travellers.

Darlington is an old village which was originally vineyards and farming land. Many of the original stone buildings constructed then remain and give the Darlington the character it has today. Darlington is an artistic, friendly, somewhat old fashioned place to live where the post office cat rubs against your legs as you chat to the ladies behind the counter and there will always be someone to talk to at the playground if you need company. Many of the activities in Darlington center around the old stone community hall and grassed sports area, the tennis courts, playground, cricket nets, bicycle jumps, and general store ( wonderful fresh bread baked each day) and post office. Public transport busses can be caught from a bus stop a short walk from the house. The train station is situated in Midland ( the closest town centre - about 10-15 min drive from Darlington). Darlington is very community minded and there are plenty of things to get involved with if you wanted to -eg: sports clubs, walking trails, bridge, arts festivals, scouts, environmental care groups, garden club and the social club. It is a quiet, naturally beautiful place to live with space to explore and discover.

We are a family of 3 - I am a Registered Nurse with a strong interest in environmental and community issues, with 2 children who are 8 and 5 years old. We have decided to have a year (or thereabouts) of adventure and so are looking at moving for a period of time ( up to a year) to Africa ( but would consider other places too) where we can explore the history and countryside.
We need to live somewhere with reasonable access to a primary school if possible.
I am very pratical and we are keen gardeners so would enjoy looking after gardens and vegie patches.




Where is it?

Découvrez aussi